Matthew 19:14 Psalm 145:4 Pastor Barton God is good and motorcyles are too! Testimony and proof

“Jesus said, ‘Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.’” Matthew 19:14

Growing up, my kids were always fascinated when I shared things I remembered from my childhood with them. Those memories were especially meaningful when I pointed out how the stories related to my life now. I miss them terribly and so wish I could tell them so many stories that come to memory at seemingly odd even strange times. Especially as I pray and reflect on my will and Gods will for my life.

So much about our stories can be traced back to God working in our lives, and when we share them, our kids can see evidence that Jesus is real and intimately involved with us.

What’s even more surprising is that they can later recall them in surprising detail! It’s amazing how well they remember the life lessons tied to the stories we tell. Like how I would tell my kids I had to work to get things and do chores to be able to live my dream as a mini rider turned racer from amatuer to  pro motocross racer. To scared to death semi pro road racer going 180mph.

https://goo.gl/photos/AhNqX8HugNkbTfJ79

While it may be difficult for children to recall the exact passage of Scripture they just read, most can recall in specific detail the accounts of a story or a sound my motorcycles made. Little kids tune in and can envision people, places, and things. Events brought to life from a trophy on the wall.  I remember every dream I ever had in life. Hearing myself talk I can envision the past whether it was finishing the race with a broken leg or my hand-held high as the winner. To finish a tough race and not give up or pull off even though you know you are hurt to the point you  wont be able to walk as you dismount your bike in the pits. My hands help up in victory as I crossed the finish line or were they held out to ask for help. Was it to acknowledge myself, the crowd of spectators and fans. Symbolisim I gave it all I had at that moment in time. Little did I know other than I was hurt. I had a habit of hiding my pain and still do. Facts later revevealed I had put my femur through my tibia and split it like a piece of wood. I never fell off the bike or let my competitors know I was done for the day the season or my career.

That story allowed me to point out that even back then, Jesus was preparing me for my calling as a teacher and as a survivor to become a pastor. Although my kids didn’t understand their own callings at that point and still don’t. I myself then and now some days feel as if  God left me alone many times with just me my dreams and thoughts. Jesus being in my heart would always be left to walk and talk and think within my heart. Should I attempt another comeback to racing, should I do something entirely different, Or Should I give thanks for all I had done in my life so far racing and concentrate now on my baby girl who was there to hug and hold and make me forget the pain and long road to recovery ahead.

Do any of us really have anything figured out?  By seeing me live out my dream letting me decide I was done racing. Today still and at the time and in knowing that the Lord put it in my heart at a very young age that I was capable of great things. I still believe in all things good, Maybe it was God, maybe it was because I felt loved at the time.As humans and children of god we have so many thoughts and fears and feelings. Being an adopted boy I had the encouragement from an Angel and as a kid believed in dreams and even in fairy tales. Faith and truth in understanding the reality that God does indeed have a plan for all our lives. This gives access to Divine Truth.

Jesus wanted children to have access to Him, as He said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these” (Matthew 19:14).

Although our kids might not have experienced all the ways God’s revealed Himself to us, we can use our stories to teach them of things to come — if they are willing to take hold of Him for themselves.

As a dad or mom,  here are some things you can do on a regular basis to help your kids see God and take hold of Him

 Trace the hand of God in past stories, but constantly look for ways to connect Biblical truths to everyday circumstances.

Point out answers to things you’ve prayed about with your kids.Show them the many ways God provides and make sure they know where credit is due.

Even in disappointments, talk to them about verses you use to keep trusting God.

 But before you get an overly idyllic view of my parental skills , please know I didn’t do anything perfectly as a parent. I just invested lots of time and lots of prayers recently but in divine truth I could done so much more and started so much earlier in my life.

There were seasons where my kids were really interested in growing spiritually and others where I wasn’t sure anything was sticking. But through it all, I kept trusting that no matter what, no spiritual truth taught is ever wasted.

Dear Lord, help me be a teacher of Your truth. As You continue to write the story of my life, reveal Yourself to me so I can tell my family of Your faithfulness. I want them to see the reality of Christ living in me and the difference You make in my life. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Deuteronomy 4:9 “Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.” (NIV)

Psalm 145:4, “One generation shall praise Your works to another, And shall declare Your mighty acts.” (NKJV

2 thoughts on “Matthew 19:14 Psalm 145:4 Pastor Barton God is good and motorcyles are too! Testimony and proof

Leave a Reply

